Skip to content

Facts on Hair Rebonding

August 23, 2008

My favorite sister (well she’s the only one!) had her hair rebonded last Saturday. It took 5 hours to finish but the outcomes was worth it – she said. It was discounted @ Php1,500.00 (any length). For extra care, she had treatment done beforehand also at Php1,500.00 to ensure a great outcome. She’s as obsessed with hair like me. Teehee.

Lucky for me, I have a relatively tame and straight hair, but that did not stop me from thinking about getting my hair done too. When I asked my sister about the process of hair rebonding, the facts shocked me a bit. So I want to share it here.

=====

Hair rebonding is a process where the chemical bonds in your hair are broken, rearranged and bonded back again permanently using very strong chemicals. It is one of the most damaging things you can do to your hair.

During rebonding, perming lotion is added to soften the hair and break down its bonds. After this is washed off, hair is placed between 2 metal plates of an electric styling device, which uses heat to pull the hair rod-straight. A neutralizer is then applied to reset the bonds and stabilize the hair.

Hair is irreversibly altered after the perming process. Chemically-treated hair shafts are weaker and fracture more easily. This can lead to hair loss.

Hair become fragile and has to be handled with extreme care after treatment. A natural reflex, like tucking your hair behind your ears or tying your hair in the first month after treatment, can be disaster.

The process can also cause damage and burns to the skin and scalp. For example hair can be damaged if the various chemicals are left on the hair for too long, or if ironing is done with an iron at higher than 180ºc.

Conventional methods of straightening hair use hair-straightening lotions, which result in dry, brittle, and split-ends prone hair. Rebonding gives you softer hair but higher risks because it uses more toxic chemicals.

Maintaining the rebonded look means continual touch-ups, at least, every 6 months. This puts you at further risk of hair loss, eventually, and prematurely, leaving your full head of hair nothing but a memory. Source: www.beyondjane.com.

=====

Articles about Hair Rebonding by: www.indiaparenting.com

What is Rebonding?

Rebonding is a chemical hair treatment that makes your hair straight, sleek and shiny. It is a permanent and expensive procedure. Prices for the treatment may vary across salons due to products used, service, your hair type and post treatment care.

Each type of hair has a natural bond.Curly or wavy, are the result of natural bonds that give the hair its physical quality. The cream softener or relaxant used in the rebonding treatment breaks the hair structure. Then a neutraliser bonds the structure again and makes hair straight. In simpler terms the rebonding treatment changes your natural hair structure and restructures it.

Once your hair is straightened you have to touch up the new growth every three months, six months or a year, depending upon your growth.

The Process of Rebonding

The time taken to complete a rebonding treatment depends upon the length, type and thickness of your hair. Hair till mid back can take about 8 hours or more to be rebonded. A man’s hair might need three hours. Here’s the step by step approach to rebonding.

1. Hair is washed with a mild shampoo. No conditioner is applied. Hair is dried completely with a blow dryer keeping it on the medium level.

2. Hair is separated into parts. The cream softener or relaxant is applied to every hair shaft, keeping it straight. A thin plastic board is used to keep hair straight.

3. Cream softener or relaxant is kept on hair for at least half an hour or depending upon the hair type. Keeping it for too long may even harm hair. After that hair is steamed for 10 to 40 minutes, depending upon hair type and condition, and then rinsed.

4. Hair is blow dried and then keratin lotion is applied.

5. A flat iron is used to straighten hair further and break any remaining curls. The iron should not exceed 180 degrees. A ceramic iron is better than other metal irons. The salon expert will iron your hair until it is satisfactorily straight and shiny.

6. Hair is again parted and a neutralizer is applied to set the bonds and stabilize the hair.

7. The neutralizer is kept for at least 30 minutes.

8. The neutralizer is rinsed off with cold water. Hair is blow dried and hair serum is applied. A last touch of ironing is given with the straightening iron. Hair appears silky straight and shiny.

A salon professional will restrict you from washing your hair for minimum three days. It allows the treatment to set. You will be asked not to clip your hair, tie a rubber band or wear any other accessories in your hair for minimum three days. Wearing a shower cap while having a bath is also advisable, to prevent hair from becoming wet.

Is rebonding harmful for hair?

Any chemical process affects hair texture and quality. Excessive use of chemicals makes hair dry, weak and can even lead to hairfall. Hair rebonding requires post treatment care otherwise it may turn harmful. If you are suffering from hairfall, you must avoid rebonding or any other chemical hair treatment. Cheap chemicals, inexperienced hair stylists and weak hair can make rebonding a bad experience.

Hair rebonding can turn into a disaster if you do not take care of your hair. Hair will need extra pampering once it has been rebonded. You cannot ignore your hair just because it looks straight and shiny. Rebonding done from a reputed and trustworthy salon lasts longer and hair quality does not suffer. Discuss your hair condition and the treatment before your scheduled appointment.

How to take care of rebonded hair

Taking care of rebonded hair is very important to maintain a healthy mane. Only a well-looked after crown of hair can stay beautiful, always. Here’s what you have to do, to treat your rebonded hair with care and prevent hair loss.

* Use a shampoo for straight hair
* Use a conditioner every time you wash your hair
* Apply a hair serum after towel drying hair.
* Oil your hair regularly
* Use natural hair masks once a week before washing your hair. You can use aloe vera gel, curd or olive oil with an egg.
* Oil and steam your hair every fifteen days. You can wrap a towel dipped in warm water, around your hair. This will deep condition your hair.
* Consume a balanced diet. Include nuts and sprouts in your diet.

Hair that is taken care of will be frizz free and smooth to touch. Rebonded hair is susceptible to dryness. Therefore ensuring that your hair remains hydrated and full of life is very important.

Fixing Rebonding disaster

If you have already relaxed, rebonded or straightened your hair and your hair has turned into a disaster, you can try and fix it. Get help with these simple tips.

* Get a hair cut done
* Approach the salon you got rebonding done from. Ask them to repair the damage
* Oil your hair regularly
* Use hair serums or leave-in conditioners
* Get deep conditioning done every fortnight
* Avoid any other chemical treatment for next six months
* Tie a bun
* Learn some styling techniques from your stylist to make the best of your hair
* Wear a scarf

Your hair is a vital part of your personality. Be very careful before you expose your hair to any chemical treatment. Remember, that natural is the best. If your hair is difficult to manage you can try rebonding but with all due care.

There! All in all I think as long as we go to a reputable stylist and not settle for a cheap one then our hair-y experience will be a good one^^

Update!!!! Check out the results of my hair rebonding > HERE <

 

XOXO

 

38 Comments leave one →
  1. Nurrai permalink
    October 8, 2008 10:05 pm

    Wow! Ur tips on rebonding realli help me 2 think twice before rebonding….anyway, I had a small, curly hair…so, any tips on whether I should go for rebonding? Thanks!

  2. October 28, 2008 4:51 pm

    Hello,
    W ow.. what a price? I found a hair rebonding salon and it’s price is extremely different to what your sister got. The salon personnel told me that it’s Php 6,000 for the length of my hair. What salon did you went to? Any suggestion for me?

  3. Rebecca permalink
    December 9, 2008 10:28 pm

    After rebonding, did your hair have any fly-aways at the top? Is it natural or is it just me being obsessive? lol thanks – id love to hear from you :) becca_hoo@hotmail.com

  4. January 14, 2009 7:22 am

    Thanks for the info on the process, I was curious. I have a theory that in the previous generation more girls got perms because they wanted to have hairstyles like white movie stars, and in our generation the pendulum is swinging the other way and a lot of fashion in Southeast Asia (I’m Malaysian) is originating in the Far East so that’s why rebonding is more popular. Thoughts?

  5. Jennifer permalink
    February 18, 2009 1:48 pm

    PLEASE LADIES, DO NOT REBOND YOUR HAIR!

    My hair was long (about mid-back) and I decided to rebond when I was living in the Philippines. It absolutely RUINED my hair. Believe me when I say I used every product to nourish my hair, expense was not an issue. NOTHING HELPED! I cut an inch and it still was frizzy at the ends. When I say frizzy, I mean it was straight from my scalp to just below my chin, then it turned into a bit of an afro puff. It was noticeable to EVERYONE! It looked really bad. So I cut another inch, then another….I ended up cutting it all off short!

    Even worse, my hair texture is no longer the same. I did the rebonding in Oct. 2007 and cut everything off in May 2008. All of the rebonded hair is gone but my original curly hair never returned. My hair is very limp, not bouncy like before (pre-rebond). If I had known that it would be a permanent for LIFE change I would have NEVER done it. I want to cry sometimes. I can’t believe my hair will never be the same.

    Ladies, I know all your friends are doing it and you see the Pantene and Sunsilk girls on TV with their long, straight black silky hair, but don’t buy into it! Love your natural waves and curls! Special effects are added to those commercials to make their hair look silky, shimmery and super black! I have NEVER seen hair like in those commercials on people in the streets. NEVER.

    Save your money!

  6. jan karell permalink
    March 24, 2009 8:48 pm

    wow!!! this is very nice for our report about hair rebonding
    i will never forget this site
    it help’s very much for me

  7. ramyya permalink
    March 24, 2009 9:14 pm

    wow..!!!i never knew there was soooo much gd and bad about hair rebonding and this is really useful for people who just wanna do it as something cool without knowing the ricks….thanks a lot….u sure saved me from goin bald…..lol….

  8. Lisa permalink
    March 30, 2009 8:13 am

    My hair has been through it’s third rebonding, and it’s fine. Never did my hair turn frizzy or fall out. I dunno, I guess it works and doesn’t work for some people. My hair is shoulder length and black.

  9. Jessica permalink
    April 1, 2009 9:03 pm

    Hi,

    Are the facts for rebonding proven scientifically?

  10. jenny permalink
    April 22, 2009 11:02 am

    hi,

    I just rebonded my hair and turned out good everybody in the office was admiring my new hair.
    My hair before was really curly and frizzy and now it’s straight, shiny and smooth … i will just try taking care of the this the natural way by using olive oil and really didn’t cost me much
    It cost 2000; it was package deal, rebond and cellophane…
    I think it is ok to rebond hair as long as the salon has been tested by some other people you know:)

  11. rebondingmakarizo permalink
    May 4, 2009 12:20 pm

    Actually rebonding is quite safe if it is done correctly.

    1. This is most important step before you do anything else
    You must select the right type of rebonding variant for your hair, because there are 5 types of hair

    2. Apply the right variant to your hair.

    3. Choose only ammonia free products, such as Makarizo Rebonding

    4. Do not wash your hair at least 2 days after rebonding

    5. Do not tight your hair at least 7 days after rebonding

    6. Do not use anti dandruff shampoo at least 7 days after rebonding

    I hope this helps.

  12. lekshmi permalink
    May 5, 2009 4:09 pm

    thnx a lot for this article..its been very helpful for me..i rebounded recently n the tips given here to take care of my hair have been realy helpful..
    but the person at the salon tld me nt to apply oil, but u hve specified the other way..so i’m a bit confused about tht, can u please clarify it??

    Rgds
    lekshmi
    abudhabi

  13. cassandra permalink
    May 20, 2009 1:36 am

    Does anyone know a good place in the Philippines (Manila) to rebond ? Preferably someone whos done it before.

  14. dana permalink
    June 3, 2009 9:33 pm

    I had it last week. I loved what happened to my hair after rebonding it. I just feel beautiful – and more confident. if you want your hair to be rebonded, don’t go to cheap salons. Better be safe than sorry. Mine cost only P2000 – but I went all the way to Bauan Batangas! That was 2hrs away from Manila!

  15. althea permalink
    June 14, 2009 2:56 pm

    thanks for the tips. just a question, if you rebond your hair, can you go to the beaches. i am planning to have my hair rebonded, but i have a beach holiday (5 days) in 2 weeks time. will it ruined?

  16. Vini permalink
    July 15, 2009 7:54 pm

    Hi,

    I had my hair rebonded about twice in 6 months gap and let me tell you that the results were excellent. I guess a lot depends on the saloon you are visiting and the expertese of the stylist. I would suggest don’t compromise on that, it’s worth paying a few extra bucks for the glorious mane.

    If it’s done carefully and in the right manner you won’t loose any extra hair than you do already.

    Cheers Gals!
    Vini

  17. sasha permalink
    August 3, 2009 7:32 pm

    hi,
    thanks
    after reading this i changed my mind… will love my natural waves ~~~~~~~~<~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

  18. August 16, 2009 11:01 pm

    Hey ,
    i had rebonded my hair on 1st of this month.
    i had taken proper care to ensure that my hair remains untied, unwashed for like first three days.
    on my first wash though the right side of my hair had become curves(left side was purrrfect)…i was so angry n disappointed, i showed my stylist the diff….she suggested that since my hair was already chemically treated it would not be proper to apply those chemicals for the whole process so early.
    After 20 days she called me again n the whole process was reapeated for the right side section though care was taken to ensure that the cream to break the bonds was not kept for more than 5 mins….n the rest was same.
    after all this …i really wonder …was there a need to go thru all of it again just to straighten a few curves at the back …factually all this is pyshological .
    but i must admit as of now m feeling a goody-goody factor inside me…lets c how long the rebonding stays. well….i hope i wont lose my precious hair in the long run

  19. Tonet permalink
    August 24, 2009 1:43 am

    I just have a wavy hair, I got them rebonded twice already. I love it. My hair is naturally straight and shiny.

    My first was in Going Straight and the 2nd one is in Freshhaire. Both salon are awesome.

  20. Rosie permalink
    September 5, 2009 11:07 pm

    Wow seriously? For that much? My mum got hers done for £10 she told me (in VietNam) and it lasted for around 2 years and a half

    • Dianne permalink
      February 10, 2010 12:37 pm

      Rosie, where in Vietnam did your mum go, do you know? I’d love the name of the place and city if you could help.

  21. Jac permalink
    September 23, 2009 6:25 pm

    My friend hd rebond for a year n her hair still seem to be rebonded yesterday.and she take care of it juz like bf she rebonding..it is depend on ur hair type(bond or structure of hair),so chek ur hair type bef0re rebonding

  22. Faye Clemente permalink
    October 13, 2009 9:56 am

    I was in Manila when the super typhoons hit. Not much else to do but go to MOWA almost everyday. My cousins and niece have had their hair rebonded without disastrous results. One afternoon, I took my girls to Ystilo. I just got a trim because I was told it would take at least 3-4 hours. There was no way I could sit still for that long. Then Ondoy hit the country full tilt. Went back and had it done without doing further diligence. I love it! So far, no discernible disastrous effects. I think it’s because my stylist, Mr. Romy, told me there’s no lye in the formula they use. Their formula is from Europe. No nasty smell, whatsoever. Hubby even commented there’s less hair on bathroom floor. I had long, slightly wavy dark virgin hair. I am mortified to learn that this process is irrevocable! I am more vigilant in keeping my hair moisturized. That’s part of the downside. It’s a pain. I used to be able to just wash it and go. Now, everyday, I restrain myself from putting it up, tucking it behind my ears, etc. I had to give all my hair accessories away. Although I like it straight and super shiny, I miss the times when I could just put it up in a bunch, let it dry and then get big, wild wavy, bombshell hair or simply pulling it back to a tight chignon. I highly recommend VO5 products.

  23. SHEENA permalink
    January 11, 2010 8:41 pm

    I’VE GONE THROUGH HAIE REBONDING AND IT WAS MARVELLOUS!!!!! I DID NOT HAVE ANY PROBLEM AFTER ALL

  24. Shey permalink
    January 12, 2010 9:56 am

    i have rebonded hair, so far so good.. i’m planing to go to salon next week for a hot oil.. lisa is right, that’s why choosing your hairstylist and salon is very important.. before the procedure he ask me if i undergone any procedure before.. i have very curly, thick, long and black hair.. he said that i have a strong and healthy hair which is good for rebonding.. i never try coloring my hair before, i straightened my hair when i was in highschool and it was a disaster.. 6 yrs after i decided to try rebonding and so far i am satisfied.. i hope it will last long till my next visit to salon for touch-up.. before deciding to go to salon and have your hair rebonded make sure you go to the trusted one.. honestly being beautiful is painful (on my wallet ehehe) but the confidence i have now is worth it.. besides rebonding now a days is not that expensive like before.. good luck girls :D

  25. sudeshna permalink
    February 24, 2010 1:28 am

    hiiiii………….i am planning to do hair rebonding from loreal……….can i really trust loreal ?????

    plzzzzzzz rply

  26. Jocelyn permalink
    April 24, 2010 8:00 am

    I should have read all about rebonding before I decided to go for it. Mine is a total disaster. My hair right now feels like a coconut husk. It’s totally damaged. I used to have a really nice hair. It just went frizzy on my last visit to the Philippines so I just jump to it. My mom and my sisters rebond all looks really good so I thought mine would be the same. Wrong choice. I did not even know what rebond will really do to my hair. A BIG lesson learned. Read all about the facts before committing.

  27. Zara permalink
    May 21, 2010 4:59 am

    I got myhair rebonded 2 years ago and I never have any problem at all. My hair is still soft and straight after 2 years. I will definitely do it again. I got mine done in Cebu.

  28. Sam permalink
    June 8, 2010 5:25 pm

    rebonds are actually best for virgin hair, those hair that have never been chemically treated of any kinds….so if you’re planning to straighten your hair for the very first time, go for a rebond..it’s also advisable to have your hair hot oiled at least every month…
    if you’re hair is damaged, i think protein treatments are the best….

    i had my hair rebonded twice already, i have really thick and curly hair, and my scalp is quite weak because it was burned when i first had my hair straightened and i’m regretting that i didn’t go for a rebond instead…

  29. mimi permalink
    June 12, 2010 9:42 pm

    hmmm…i had my hair rebonded thrice but it seems it wont just go with the ‘rebonding thing’, i took very good care everyday of my hair every after i had it rebonded but still, i ended up not satisfied with it, small wavy hairs sprouting at the back of my ears. The good thing with it however, i had bouncy hair. thanks a lot to this site, i learned a lot. Well, yeah better choose a BETTER SALON to take good care of your hair. just an opinion….

  30. July 19, 2010 3:10 pm

    At least I can rebond my mom and my hair properly now!!!

    For a quick detailed view of the process you may see a video in YouTube (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ISQ6uSCEnWo)

    You can buy Monea Hair Rebonding System at your local department stores or drugstores (Philippines) for less than PHP 700!!! =)

  31. August 27, 2010 4:43 pm

    please tell me any good saloon in India in New delhi. I want to do rebonding. Thanks!!

  32. August 28, 2010 1:16 am

    HI EVERY ONE
    I AM SHEETAL FROM SURAT http://WWW.SHEETAL HAIR BEAUTY INSTITUTE.COM REBONDING IS NOT HAMFUL AFTER REBONDING U CAN USE MAILD SHAMPOO- CONDITIOR HAIR OIL HAIR SERUM EVERY 15 DAYS TAKE PROTIEN TREATMENT.AND YOUR HAIR LOOKING EVERY ONE.

  33. sheila lazaro permalink
    September 16, 2010 1:19 pm

    Hair Rebonding is great! Gives more confidence to once personality. It makes you feel beautiful and sexy. And the more you will be willing to improve yourself. yes it may be cozy a bit. but if you look around for a salon or professional stylist, you’ll find that it is affordable. once a year maintainance is all you need for the regrowth. you will come across salons that offers hot oil treatment for only 99pesos. i said so coz treatment every 2-4 weeks is necessary after rebonding to maintain its beauty. Mind you girls, rebonding now is so affordable.

  34. September 28, 2010 9:13 am

    ngprebond ako mga sis kgbi lng using loreal xtenso..i noticed n hndi xa ksng straight nung last rebond ko last year..pero ms bouncy xa..anu b mgndang treatment for my hair? gusto ko tlga maaalagaan xa pra d nmn msyang ung bnyad ko pngrebond..hehe tnxx..;)

  35. VILMA D. permalink
    October 8, 2010 2:12 pm

    i found an equally good rebond products distributed by uniminx trading in the philippines. hair rebond products matches top brand lines i got it from http://www.uniminx.webs.com so if your on a budget in the philippines try this one its worked for me. thank you VILMA

  36. kathy025 permalink
    October 9, 2010 11:25 am

    Hello guys, this blog entry scares me. I naturally have straight hair, but I want to get rid of fritz and buhaghag or whatever. Is rebonding the way to go? I plan to get my hair treated at GOING STRAIGHT.

  37. jesy permalink
    October 18, 2010 10:48 pm

    hi..
    i had rebond my hair..i like it and thanks for this info..
    its really help
    ^__^

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

