Skip to content

To Cane Or Not To Cane?

February 15, 2008

That is the question passed to be by spunky mommy Mitch.

Parent’s nowadays are more hesitant to spank their children. That is because during our time our parent’s didn’t spare the rod. Punishments like sit in the air, kneel in monggo seeds, kneel in salt, spank with belt, spank with guava branches, or spank with anything that will leave a mark & in some cases put in sack are common occurrences. 

I have talked about this concern before. I think, my son, at 1 year and 7 months is too young to understand (just yet) whacking and its purposes. Right now, when he does something bad I glare at him or talk to him with a stern voice.

A few instances, I have succumbed to my frustration & spanked his hand for throwing things & breaking stuff. But guess what, it backfired on me. He has learned to spank back. He would spank my face (hard!) when he is angry or frustrated.

Now, how can I ever explain to a 1 year old that the concept of ‘spanking’?! My son’s brain is like a sponge, he observes and follows whatever the grown-ups are doing. That is why I am more careful now with my actions whenever baby boy is around.

Ok, so my answer to the TAG? Not to Cane. Well, as of this very moment that IS my answer. I do not feel comfy whacking my son and baring to see the pained look in his eyes after. I don’t think my mommy heart can bear it. IF we resort to spanking I’ll let the dad do the dirty work.  

So, I want to know what my fellow first time mommy’s think? Pat, Ris & Kelly, Is it better to cane or not to cane?

♥Vanessa♥

12 Comments leave one →
  1. February 15, 2008 4:22 pm

    i know how that feels like.. i did that with mia too and she immitates me! but you know what, spanking still is a yes for me when she grows older and enough to know the difference. i think for our kids, it still doesn’t apply eh. anyway, i’ll leave my other thoughts in the tag! hehe. thanks for this one 🙂

  2. February 15, 2008 4:28 pm

    hi ris, THAT was fast! cge i will wait 🙂
    thanks!

  3. February 15, 2008 4:49 pm

    i am so bored today that i finished your tag. hehe.
    (tag answer)

  4. February 15, 2008 5:33 pm

    vannie dear, i’ll do the tag soon (hopefully).

    i luuuv your photo! so fasyon! the aviator looks great on you 🙂

  5. February 15, 2008 8:04 pm

    Korek! Let them do the dirty work, for now hahaha!

  6. February 15, 2008 10:08 pm

    i do that too. sumbong ko sya kay daddy nya.
    pero so far, di pa nmn napalo. 🙂

  7. February 16, 2008 8:26 am

    Kelly – hehe, ok! take your time dear 🙂 thanks.

    Mitch – Yes, so that mommy’s stay on our baby’s good side! ahihihi

    Thea – so far…ahahaha..nku we have to extend our patience talga.

  8. February 16, 2008 10:28 pm

    yikes, ako ata ang spamming sayo. hehehe.
    tagged you again.
    http://bloggerhappy.com/2008/02/16/b-for-bloggerhappy/
    whenever you feel like doing this. 😉

  9. February 16, 2008 10:45 pm

    vannie, i shared my story about spanking at my blog hehe

  10. sunshineforlife permalink
    February 18, 2008 11:38 am

    van, better none at all. dad’s hands are heavy hitters so mas ok if the mom does the hitting than the dads does.

  11. February 18, 2008 11:46 am

    hi arlene..i know.in the ideal world, its better not to spank. but i can’t say for certain that we will never do it. but for now, we will definitly not.:)

  12. February 21, 2008 8:56 am

    hi! I finally answered this tag. : )

Leave a Reply

