Skip to content

I’ve changed.

April 22, 2008
tags: ,

Have you ever felt like you’re bound to do things greater than what you are actually doing? It’s weird, I am accomplished being a supermom to my boy and a superwife to Josh but at times, I feel like it’s not enough.

I have this dream of doing something big, but what? I don’t know that yet.

Maybe.

Maybe it’s just birthday jitters. I am turning 25.

A quarter of a century old.

Did I accomplish anything? Am I the person I’ve imagined when I was little girl?

I am not that girl I’ve imagined but I am better. But in a different way. To be perfectly honest; I never thought I’d have kids. I didn’t want to have kids. I hated how they were noisy & unruly in malls & churches.

But God had a plan for me. I was blessed. And I embraced it.

My life took a 360 degree change.

If you asked me 5 years ago I would have said at 25 I’m going to be single, fabulous & carefree. I would spend all my money on traveling and clothes. I will be out every weekend & my life will be perfect.

Fast-forward to the present, I am still Fab (hahaha don’t get me wrong!) but it’s different now. Change of priorities. Change of mind-set. I never think of ‘myself’ as me anymore, its myself+2. Any decisions would involve careful consideration of my little family.

And, surprisingly, I am really happy. Not the happy i-am-drunk-at-a-party happy, but happy, fulfilled & contented.

I cannot think of my life without my little family! Of course its not perfect, certainly not a bed of fluffy roses! It takes a lot of sacrifice. work. money. effort to make it work, but at the end of the day. Lying in bed thinking back. I would never change anything.

I had a blast when I was still single, I was Ms.PartyGirl. But I’ve changed. Life is definitely going to be better.

Life begins at 25! Cheers!

10 Comments leave one →
  1. April 22, 2008 7:01 pm

    Hi Vannie,

    Are u from cebu?
    Link exchange! ANyway, 25 huh? Hmm… that’s what we call the Quarter Life Crisis. You may want to read more about that.
    http://www.ibeejing.com/2008/02/03/beejing-the-quarter-life-crisis/

  2. April 23, 2008 8:26 am

    hi beejing!

    thanks~yah i kinda figured that out as well. ahahaha
    sure let’s x-links!

    tc

  3. April 23, 2008 9:31 am

    Buti na lang sweet 16 pa lang ako… ;>

  4. April 23, 2008 10:49 am

    anong date sa may ang bday mo ? mine is on the first sat eh.

  5. April 23, 2008 5:36 pm

    motherhood can really butter you up huh?
    hehe kidding. that’s really a big change you’ve gone through, and i can totally relate. now there’s just no room for selfishness 🙂 it’s great that your family has you.

  6. April 23, 2008 8:58 pm

    yeah..makes u a different person over night.
    i know u understand. sometimes its a bit overwhelming,u know?
    anyway, thanks for the kind words ris!

    muah

  7. April 23, 2008 9:50 pm

    My change is lifestyle has nothing much to do with a paradigm shift. I just don’t have time to go out anymore. That’s all.

    Weird…

    Grrr!

  8. April 24, 2008 9:59 am

    Hi Vannie! I already linked u up 🙂 Belated happy birthday! Ako naman will turn 30 by August. Yay!

    Happy Thursday!

  9. April 29, 2008 1:28 am

    huy teka, parang nakita ko myself writing that, haha! 🙂

    when i was 25 i was doing all of that – single, carefree, travelling, splurging, partying. pero honestly, it got old after a while. when i got married at 27 and never looked back since. 🙂

    its true, life as a domesticated party girl is fun, but a different fun. had i known that it was going to be as fun as this, i would have gotten married at 25 (e kaya lang di ko pa nakilala hubby ko nun so impossible, hehe!) so yeah despite getting married and having a family, i’m still a partygirl (ergo mrspartygirl, se moi!) 🙂

    hey, happy birthday! 🙂

  10. April 29, 2008 8:53 am

    mee, oo ur ryt, it gets pretty old…i mean dancing every friday??? and waking up with a hangover on a saturday? not very productive.

    ahihihi…thanks..i’m having a mid-life crisis lang when i wrote that..

    oks na ako ngayon. hehehe

Leave a Reply

