Skip to content

Blogging 101

June 29, 2008

I was thinking about this lately, what are the blogging etiquettes or rules if there are any?

My blog roll has exponentially increased in number & this blog is not even 1 year old yet. (I’ve been blogging for nearly 8 months now).

Example: When someone is asking for an ex-link from me, should I add them first or wait until they add me?

I usually just add them anyway (especially if their blog appeals to me) and then check up on their blogs if they have added mine. I almost always never delete links unless that blog is gone or the blogger never bothered to add my link or visit my site.

Speaking of visiting sites: After an ex-link is established are we required to visit the site everyday???

Of course I try my best to visit daily, regularly or whatever, but that impossible because 1.) I have a life 2.) I work full time and lastly 3.)I am a mom to a 2 year old!

Anyway, when I do visit I make sure to leave a comment or a note in the cbox.

Also, I tag people and ask them to continue meme’s…Some do it, others don’t and that’s perfectly OK!
Just let me know if you’re up for a tag or not so I won’t continue tagging you. ^_^ because that’s just annoying right?

Another thing, when someone leaves a comment in one of the posts; Do the blogger(me) reply in the post itself,in the commenter’s page or through email? Is it rude to just leave the comments & not reply?

Ok this is a bit tricky but it’s a case to case basis. What I do is I really try my very best to reply to every comment made, even if it’s a simple ‘thank you’; I usually reply in the post itself. (so dear readers,just check
because that’s what I do when I leave comments in others page;I regularly check)

But if the comment left is a clear question that I feel I must address, I leave a comment in that commenter’s page or cbox or tagboard.

And lastly, if I need to answer a personal matter, like paypal email add, telephone number,or something like that I would send an email because that is more private.

I don’t think it’s rude not to reply to each and everyone’s comments because sometimes we don’t have the luxury of time.

***************

Anywhoo, I feel weird writing this post (feeling pro?) but then again, I was just thinking because maybe I’ve offended some? Maybe there’s rules I don’t know? Right?

If I’ve offended anyone by not linking them or what, I do apologize. Also, if there are any tips/rules out there I don’t know about, care to share?

Photo Courtesy of Blogging101

8 Comments leave one →
  1. June 29, 2008 5:07 pm

    I always encounter this ex-link thing. Honestly, I don’t just add people unless as what you’ve said their blogs appeal to me. Kasi I had experienced adding people in my blogroll but when I checked theirs wala ang link ko, to think sila ang nagrequest.

    Since then I learned my lesson hehe!

  2. June 29, 2008 11:49 pm

    Hi, was wondering if you’d like to exchange links with me?
    If yes, please leave your blog url as a comment at:
    http://bigmoneylist.blogspot.com/
    I’ll link to you first, then when you have time link back k?
    Thanks, Michael
    BTW–I’m michaelwong38 on digg. If ever you want something dugg, just send me a shout anytime.

  3. June 30, 2008 2:01 pm

    this is a very helpful post! 🙂 got a tag for you in my blog

  4. June 30, 2008 6:08 pm

    gosh I’m guilty with deleting the links who doesn’t link me back.

    oh well hehehe…

    I really like your style van =_= keep it up!

  5. July 1, 2008 1:02 pm

    This post got my interest.Well, thank you for tagging me always. And in fairness to me hehe., I always do the tag. When it comes to comment stuff I fail to thank you every time you leave a comment on my post. On the ex link issue, I make it a point to visit the blog of the bloggers on my blog list. I enjoy visiting them.

  6. July 1, 2008 7:38 pm

    nice!:) i can apply this pointers every now and then.i usually add links right then and then even if there is no return yet..

    speaking of ex-link..may i join your blogroll? hope u will link me and let me know as i do the same..u can visit my other blogs too.

    http://www.fit4all.us
    http://www.restlessrant.carlotaonline.com
    http://www.gloriesolitude.blogspot.com
    http://www.dressmeup.carlotaonline.com

    hope to see u there..tc 🙂

  7. July 12, 2008 2:30 am

    sa personal blog, i make it a point to link to only my legitimate/real blogging berks. if they don’t link back it’s fine. tutal naman it’s supposed to be a guide for me, dahil sila yung supposedly lagi kong binibisita or/and they’re the ones i am proud to recommend to others.

    sa working blog, anything goes. it’s a pr0 anyway, sino ba naman ang gustong magpa-link sa isang hamak na pr0, haha!

  8. July 12, 2008 7:47 am

    mee yah i guess ur ryt sa akin naman i just link whenever someone asks,but i make it a point that they link me first. esp those na parang they ask at random lang kung pede pa link, ako kase when i ask for an exlink its cuz i like the site..

Leave a comment